• Braun & Brains
  • Posts
  • Pelago treats addiction and Goodbill reduces hospital bills. Palmsy has fake users and MowPod has fake followers. Golf is the new tennis.

Pelago treats addiction and Goodbill reduces hospital bills. Palmsy has fake users and MowPod has fake followers. Golf is the new tennis.

Fat Joe is mentioned in this newsletter.

Hey there, everyone. I've tried this newsletter thing before and I made it way too hard. Let's try to keep it simple. My flight from Austin to NYC is delayed and this is what I'm doing with my time. Let's talk about recent health-tech raises, the social media app that will let you post to fake followers, and how golf is the new tennis. All grammar mistakes are intentional.

From my ru in Austin. I think this is the Colorado River, but maybe not.

 
RAISES

  •  Pelago, a YC–backed virtual clinic for addiction treatment, raised a $58M Series C. They use cognitive behavioral therapy to help treat tobacco, alcohol and opioid addictions.

  • Goodbill, focused on reducing errors in hospital bills, raised $2M. Unrelated to Goodbill, but did you guys know that back in May, Fat Joe went to lobby Congress to call for transparency in hospital billing? Very cool of him.

  • Vizcom, an industrial design startup, raised a $20M Series A led by Index Ventures. The company uses AI tools to enable designers to turn ideas into photorealistic renderings in real-time rather than manually creating them with things like CAD tools.

  • Flip, a social commerce app featuring a marketplace of review videos from shoppers, raised $144M led by Streamlined Ventures. Imagine TikTok, but only about products. It’s like a stream of ads. Remember when people would text random contacts to get more cash on Flip? Wild. Although I never bought anything, my friend got me a giant plush hoodie off of Flip and it’s great. Lets see if Flip will Flop (lol). This seems like a bad way to doom scroll... which brings me to the company below.

NEWS


BRAIN DUMPS

Until next time,
Rachel Braun

 

Join the conversation

or to participate.