• Braun & Brains
  • Posts
  • Hardtech startups are all the rage and some people are haters. Everyone is posting about Airchat and Blackbird.xyz. Kids should spend less time with screens but more education tech is being made for them.

Hardtech startups are all the rage and some people are haters. Everyone is posting about Airchat and Blackbird.xyz. Kids should spend less time with screens but more education tech is being made for them.

Am I reading about tech and startups… or am I just reading endless amounts of product reviews?

Hey there, everybody. Today we’re talking about competing hardware, new social apps, kids using hardware in class, and kids getting off social apps. If you read anything this week, it should be Words Matter: How Tech Media Helped Write Gig Companies into Existence. It’s a long one, but it’s good for you. My thoughts on it are at the bottom under Brain Dump.

Alejandro is named after the Lady Gaga song and I met him in Tompkins Sqaure Park.


RAISES

NEWS

Startups I’m seeing in hardtech: 

Humane AI Pin, rabbit r1, and The Limitless Pendant from their respective websites.

Startups I’m seeing on my feed: 

  • All the web3 homies are posting about Blackbird.xyz. Blackbird works by creating a digital membership token for you using NFT tech from Coinbase, which is based on blockchain. When you go to a restaurant that uses it, you can check in on the app by tapping your phone on a special reader at the restaurant, getting you access to rewards, perks, and other benefits. So it’s like a coffee shop punch card but with Web3 involved. (On my feed: I first saw it online from Gabby Goldberg. Then, I saw Adam Faze’s production company Gymnasium is collaborating with Blackbird.xyz to create Take Me To Your Spot, the show about restaurant regulars. I bet all the restaurants included are customers of Blackbird.xyz.)

  • I’m sorry, but I have to mention Airchat. I know, we have all seen it. If you've been living under a rock, Airchat is a new social media app by Naval Ravikant (the founder of Angelist) and Brian Norgard (former Tinder exec) that encourages users to “just talk.” It was released last year but now it has been rebuilt and relaunched for iOS and Android users. Basically, it is a feed that is read aloud to you. If you like voice notes and listening into people's conversations, this is the app for you. Unfortunately, I only like one of those things… and it's not voice notes. I snagged the username @rachel so I feel pretty cool. We know what happened to Clubhouse usership and we are currently watching the fate of ShareChat, the India-based startup offering audio chatrooms among other spaces to connect for users. It’s just a matter of time before bigger tech companies incorporate and embrace the “voice note” communication some people love. I am interested to see if it will stick. I don’t even like the Twitter Spaces tbh. 

Big Tech:  

Kids:

BRAIN DUMPS

If you read anything this week, it should be Words Matter: How Tech Media Helped Write Gig Companies into Existence. I started to think about it after listening to Colin and Samir speak with very famous tech reviewer Marques Brownlee about his Youtube video about the Humane AI Pin.

Words Matter was interesting, especially as someone who shares a lot with tech journalists. When companies like Uber and TaskRabbit came about, the media raved about these new app service companies, making them out to be disruptors connecting consumers and gig workers. The positive framing convinced regulators and the public, leading to laws favoring their business models. The glowing, but uncritical, tech reporting helped a few small firms influence labor practices and policies big time, despite their limited economic footprint. I don’t think this is the journalists fault; they didn’t know the questions to ask because they weren’t deep in the sectors they were told to report on. If we had amplified journalists who were subject matter experts in traditional fields (like mobility/transportation in Uber's case), rather than focusing on "tech" or "startups", would there have been stronger pushback against these companies? I need to be more critical and understand that what I am reading could very well be a product review rather than hard hitting questions and deep analysis about the impacts to the overarching industry. 

Tech and startups do not exist in a vacuum in their own little world. They exist in society and that should be taken into account more, including by me. That being said… thats for subscribing to my tech and startups focused newsletter!  

Until next time,
Rachel Braun

 

Join the conversation

or to participate.